Review | Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Title: Three Dark Crowns

Author: Kendare Blake

Publishing Date: September 20th 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Length: 398 pages, hardcover

When kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

threedarkcrowns

This book really interested me. The synopsis was so alluring. I loved the idea of three queens fighting for the throne and the plot twist is just SHOCKING!

If you haven’t read the book, DO IT NOW. Then come back and fangirl with me!!!

Then come back and fangirl with me!!!

 


 

To be honest, the beginning of the book was boring. I didn’t really like it. The thought of one of the main characters being that weak was sad and it made me feel as if the book was completely hopeless. As I progressed the book there were so many things going on. It wasn’t too much to be overwhelming, but just enough to keep me thinking about what was going to happen next.

Let’s talk about the end. Do you guys think that Pietyr meant to kill Katharine? I think he did. In a part of the book, Katharine was in his arms and was falling asleep. Pietyr traced the parts where her head and arms connected to her body. I was confused about that. Was he being forced to do it? Doesn’t he love Katharine? Like WHAT PIETYR?? He annoyed me, no matter how good of a kisser he was.

OMG. The plot twist at the end. Can you believe it?  Well, I can’t say that it was too surprising, but the thought that Arsinoe could be a poisoner and Katharine a naturalist never occurred to me. I’m really excited to see how they’ll fight against each other in the next book!!

“Come quick September” *cries

So. Mirabella…….. I don’t know what to say about her. First of all, if she loves her sisters, why would she have an affair with her ‘sisters’ lover!!!(Who she thinks is her sister’s lover).

Honestly. Just pick one. Your sister or some boy. Like. PICK ONE!

I found these character charts @ http://www.epicreads.com/blog/super-helpful-character-charts-for-the-three-dark-crowns-sisters/

 

ThreeDarkCrowns_MirabellaThreeDarkCrowns_Katharine

ThreeDarkCrowns_Arsinoe

 

Email me @ lauriesbookworld@gmail.com so we can rant about Three Dark Crowns!!

1 thought on “Review | Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake”

Leave a Reply

