Review | Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

 

strangethedreamercover

 

Title: Strange The Dreamer

Author: Laini Taylor

Hardcover, 544 pages
Published March 28th 2017
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, warorphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

Welcome to Weep.


Oh my. What a synopsis!


 

<<<SPOILER FROM HERE ON>>>

At the beginning, I found this book boring. I wasn’t really sure I liked the idea of a boy who just ran away and then so happened to get a job as a librarian. However, the progressing story was very interesting.

Firstly, I loved the head librarian. He was hilarious with his constant teasing about finding a girl. When Eril – Fane arrived in the city, I was shocked that the secret of Weep could just, arrive. But since he wasn’t part of the party headed for Weep I thought he would follow behind. But Laini Taylor did the unexpected.

Lazlo stood to do what he wanted and believed in.

At the end of the book, I didn’t gasp when we found that Lazlo was a god spawn. When Thyon Nero found that Lazo’s spirit was special, I began to think about what made him special. The thought that he could be Skathis’ son, never occurred to me.

Minya annoyed me so much. Everything she did made me hate her more than I already did. Though her reasons were legit, I couldn’t not be annoyed by her actions. I mean she was talking to her brother and was trying to kill him. Does she not have any sympathy? I can not believe that she was able to control Sarai. It annoyed me like hell. I honestly wish I could kill her.

Thyon Nero is………. aggravating, bothersome, agitating, exasperating, I could go on and on and on. I don’t hate him as much as I hate Minya, but his hate rate is really close. Taking someone else’s work and using it as his own? SHAME ON YOU.

So the cover…. DUN DUN DUUUUNN

I love it. 5 Stars for the cover. It is gorgeous and so worthy of my attention. I loved how there were outlines of moths on the cover. It represented so much and I am very grateful for the cover selection.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this story. I will definitely be reading the second book.

Byeeee,

laurie

 

Leave a Reply

