Review | The Rose Society by Marie Lu


Hardcover, 398 pages

Published October 13th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.
Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she flees Kenettra with her sister to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.
But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good when her very existence depends on darkness?

Bestselling author Marie Lu delivers another heart-pounding adventure in this exhilarating sequel to The Young Elites.

~

SPOILER ALERT

~

Guys. This book was phenomenal.

I loved this book.

I don’t know about you but Marie Lu is one of my favorite authors. She has been since I read The Young Elites in April. Her style of writing is amazing and I love how she twists the words to create this beautiful creation. Honestly, I liked this book even more than I loved the Young Elites. There were so many feeling and emotions. I coulnd’t stop reading the book. 

Adelina was an amazing character to read about. Her personality was so fierce and strong. But because of her history, I wasn’t sure about what was going to happen to her. SHe scared me a little, but at the same time, I loved her for her flaws. Violetta was fine. In the beginning. She was so sweet and kind and everything that a sister could wish for, except that she was so…

ANNOYING. As the book progressed, Violetta began to question everything and I don’t think I really wanted her to be in the books. That feeling was ill felt since I hated that she left at the end. That feeling that Marie Lu wrote just killed me. I was so and so annoyed. I couldn’t understand Violetta. Did she really love her sister? Why did she always take away Adelina’s power?

Everyone was going to die and Adelina was no exception.

Th problem with Adelina was that she was so weak. Underneath her need to impress and be feared, she scared the crap out of everyone. That was what I hated. Usually, the character needs to be a villain for me to hate him/her, but this is why I loved Marie Lu’s writing so much. She could make me feel so many things that I didn’t want to feel, but did because of her writing.

I love Raffaelle. Even though he kicked Adelina out of the Dagger Society, I don’t think Adelina could have done anything without Raffaelle. Not to mention he’s hot and his personality is like.. DAMNNNN

I recommend this trilogy. SO much. It’s so much fun and the perspectives are really different than the usual novel. READ ITTT!!!

byeeeee

laurie

 

Leave a Reply

