Review | Sinful Cinderella by Anita Valle

Sinful Cinderella (Dark Fairy Tale Queen, #1)

SINFUL CINDERELLA

by Anita Valle

Paperback
156 pages
Published September 30th, 2015 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

And you thought the stepsisters were wicked….

I’m not who they think I am. A docile girl who meekly obeys her stepmother and stepsisters. Some kind of sick angel who cheerfully bears their mistreatment. That’s what I WANT them to think. Because then they won’t suspect what I’m really up to.

The ball, the prince – it’s all part of my plan to come out on top. Stepmother and her demented daughters will pay for every floor I have scoured, every sneer I have borne. They don’t know about the white magic, how I use it to enhance myself. They can’t see that my heart is black as midnight, rotten as a poisoned apple.

They’re about to find out.

SPOILERS

I gave this book 2/5 stars. I’m sorry to say so. I thought that the story was great as well as the plot and the characters. But what made everything horrible was

The writing.

example

That prince is mine.

Like no.

It sounds like an evil baby boy winning a piece of candy and then flaunting it in the other boy’s faces.

Not yet, of course. But I’ll get him. And his castle. And his kingdom! Mine.

I can’t even begin to say how much I disliked the writing style.

The prologue.

The excerpts that I just showed you are from the prologue. I can’t even. It was so bad.

So.

Bad.

The description of hate was just annoying.

Every single time I read some of her dialogue, all I heard was, I want the prince, yes stepmother, ugh I HATE HER, SHE’S SO ANNOYING and then, I need to be nice to save up some white magic so I can crush her later.

I felt like a mother trying to tell my child to stop complaining. But it obviously didn’t work since Cinderella kept complaining.

*insert eye roll times 10000000000

The book didn’t make me feel anything.

There was nothing. I just imagined what was happening, but I wasn’t scared or rooting for her. I just felt empty and annoyed.

the prince is a sadist?

I was very confused when I learned that the prince was evil. I assumed that he’d be good, at least of all people. I was really tired of seeing all this bad. I felt like being bad was the entire concept of his story.


ok.

Yes, I understood her situation, but at the same time, she made herself that way. She decided to make herself beautiful and perfect at the price of disrespect and rude treatment. There could have been so many people who Cinderella could have turned to, yet she decided to become a mistress of evil.

And that part where the fairy ‘godnutter’ said that her mother was evil, so she was too? That was horrible. You don’t have to be evil because your parents were! LIKE !!!!!!

I hated this

Honestly, I didn’t think this book was ‘realistic’ in the fairy tale sense. I liked the concept and the idea. But there was just too much evil in this book. I don’t think it was a good book. Sorry, but that’s my opinion.

byeee

laurie

 

 

Leave a Reply

