Review | Fire by Kristen Cashore

Fire (Graceling Realm, #2)

FIRE BY KRISTEN CASHORE

Hardcover
480 pages
Published October 5th, 2009 by Dial Books
It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. The young King Nash clings to his throne while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. The mountains and forests are filled with spies and thieves and lawless men.

This is where Fire lives. With a wild, irresistible appearance and hair the color of flame, Fire is the last remaining human monster. Equally hated and adored, she had the unique ability to control minds, but she guards her power, unwilling to steal the secrets of innocent people. Especially when she has so many of her own.

Then Prince Brigan comes to bring her to King City, The royal family needs her help to uncover the plot against the king. Far away from home, Fire begins to realize there’s more to her power than she ever dreamed. Her power could save the kingdom.

If only she weren’t afraid of becoming the monster her father was.

SPOILER ALERT
I’ll talk about what I liked then what I didn’t.
I really liked Fire. Her personality was stunning and amazing. She had a strong conscious and I like that she was not arrogant and cocky like her father was.
I didn’t think that Fire would want to sleep or have sex with Archer. He was a great man and I thought that she’d want to save her virginity for someone she loved as a husband, not a best friend. I was confused.
I’d wanted her and Brigan to do it together as her first time not as Archer to have her for fun.
The problem with the book was that it was reallllly slow. Everything was slow and slow and slow. I was intrigued when I saw Leck at the beginning, but he was gone until three-quarters of the way through. Fire and Brigan had to become friends first, and this probably took the longest time.
e
v
e
r……..

In all of Kristen Cashore’s books, there are political aspects. I loved that. I think that reading this trilogy really opened my eyes to the ‘other side’ of law. These novels were

all in different perspectives and that is what I loved.
byeee
laurie
One thought on “Review | Fire by Kristen Cashore

Leave a Reply

