June wrap up and July TBR 2017

Sorry I’m super late with this.

Before I list all the books I’ve read this month, I just want to say a few things.

I am moving!!!

I’m super excited and happy because my room will be much bigger than the one I have now and I’ll be able to fit in a desk and my bookshelves.

The next thing is that I have completed my goal of reading 52 books this year!!!

I’m really happy. You can check this out and celebrate with me on my Goodreads page. You’ll have to friend me, but the more friends the better. Right??

Anyways. I’ll get on with the wrap-up.

The Midnight Star (The Young Elites, #3)

 

THE MIDNIGHT STAR BY MARIE LU

There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all she’s gained.

When a new danger appears, Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds, putting not only herself at risk, but every Elite. In order to preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

I have a review for this book here.

Eleanor & Park

 

ELEANOR AND PARK BY RAINBOW ROWELL

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My review for Eleanor and Park will be right here.

The Gathering (Darkness Rising, #1)

THE GATHERING BY KELLEY ARMSTRONG

Sixteen-year-old Maya is just an ordinary teen in an ordinary town. Sure, she doesn’t know much about her background – the only thing she really has to cling to is an odd paw-print birthmark on her hip – but she never really put much thought into who her parents were or how she ended up with her adopted parents in this tiny medical-research community on Vancouver Island.

Until now.

Strange things have been happening in this claustrophobic town – from the mountain lions that have been approaching Maya to her best friend’s hidden talent for “feeling” out people and situations, to the sexy new bad boy who makes Maya feel…different. Combine that with a few unexplained deaths and a mystery involving Maya’s biological parents and it’s easy to suspect that this town might have more than its share of skeletons in its closet.

In THE GATHERING, New York Times best-selling author Kelley Armstrong brings all the supernatural thrills from her wildly successful Darkest Powers series to Darkness Rising, her scorching hot new trilogy.

My review for this books is here.

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die, #1)

 

DOROTHY MUST DIE BY DANIELLE PAIGE

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

I’ll be posting a review for this book soon. 😉😉

The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die, #2)

 

THE WICKED WILL RISE BY DANIELLE PAIGE

In this dark, high-octane sequel to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die, Amy Gumm must do everything in her power to kill Dorothy and free Oz.

To make Oz a free land again, Amy Gumm was given a mission: remove the Tin Woodman’s heart, steal the Scarecrow’s brain, take the Lion’s courage, and then Dorothy must die…

But Dorothy still lives. Now the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has vanished, and mysterious Princess Ozma might be Amy’s only ally. As Amy learns the truth about her mission, she realizes that she’s only just scratched the surface of Oz’s past—and that Kansas, the home she couldn’t wait to leave behind, may also be in danger. In a place where the line between good and evil shifts with just a strong gust of wind, who can Amy trust—and who is really Wicked?

Flawed (Flawed, #1) FLAWED BY CECELIA AHERN

You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

Fire (Graceling Realm, #2)

 

FIRE BY KRISTEN CASHORE

It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. The young King Nash clings to his throne while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. The mountains and forests are filled with spies and thieves and lawless men.

This is where Fire lives. With a wild, irresistible appearance and hair the color of flame, Fire is the last remaining human monster. Equally hated and adored, she had the unique ability to control minds, but she guards her power, unwilling to steal the secrets of innocent people. Especially when she has so many of her own.

Then Prince Brigan comes to bring her to King City, The royal family needs her help to uncover the plot against the king. Far away from home, Fire begins to realize there’s more to her power than she ever dreamed. Her power could save the kingdom.

If only she weren’t afraid of becoming the monster her father was.

My book review is here.

Sinful Cinderella (Dark Fairy Tale Queen, #1)

SINFUL CINDERELLA BY ANITA VALLE

And you thought the stepsisters were wicked….

I’m not who they think I am. A docile girl who meekly obeys her stepmother and stepsisters. Some kind of sick angel who cheerfully bears their mistreatment. That’s what I WANT them to think. Because then they won’t suspect what I’m really up to.

The ball, the prince – it’s all part of my plan to come out on top. Stepmother and her demented daughters will pay for every floor I have scoured, every sneer I have borne. They don’t know about the white magic, how I use it to enhance myself. They can’t see that my heart is black as midnight, rotten as a poisoned apple.

They’re about to find out.

Here is my review.

Heartless

HEARTLESS

 Long before Alice fell down the rabbit hole…
And before the roses were painted red…
The Queen of Hearts was just a girl, in love for the first time.

And that is all for my wrap up.

I’ve read 9 books this month. I’m happy but I think I can do better this July.

Now for the July TBR.

  1. Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
  2. Wizards: Magical Tales From the Masters of Modern Fantasy
  3. Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven
  4. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.
  5. The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
  6. The Wrath and the Dawn
  7. The Rose and the Dagger
  8. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  9. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  10. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

And that is all for the TBR!!

Thanks for reading this blog post.

byeee

laurie

 

Leave a Reply

